Fall 2009

Conductor Christopher Palmer


La Clemenza di Tito Overture, KV 621
W.A. Mozart

Concerto for Violin and Piano, F Major (soloists Celeste Williams-violin, Walter Delahunt-Piano)
J. Haydn
Allegro moderato

Piano Concerto No. 5, Op. 73 (soloist Walter Delahunt)
Adagio, un poco mosso
Rondo, Allegro


Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Op. 46

Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)

Peer Gynt, Op. 23 is the incidental music to Henrik Ibsen's 1867 play of the same name, written by the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg in 1875. It premiered along with the play on 24 February 1876 in Christiania (now Oslo).

Later, in 1888 and 1891, Grieg extracted eight movements to make two four-movement suites: Suite No. 1, Op. 46, and Suite No. 2, Op. 55. Some of these movements have received coverage in popular culture

7:00 pm, St. Matthew's United Church, 1479 Barrington Street, Halifax, NS