Fall 2016

Conductor Peter Allen
with Guest Artist Ifan Williams, cello

Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191

Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904)

The Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191, is the last solo concerto by Antonín Dvořák. It was written in 1894–1895 for his friend, the cellist Hanuš Wihan, but was premiered by the English cellist Leo Stern. It follows the standard three-movement concerto format:

  1. Allegro (B minor then B major)
  2. Adagio, ma non trope (G major)
  3. Finale: Allegro moderato – Andante – Allegro vivo (B minor then B major)

Pictures at an Exhibition

Modest Mussorgsky (1839–1881)

Pictures at an Exhibition is a suite in ten movements and the music depicts an imaginary tour of an art collection (based on paintings by the artist Viktor Hartmann). We will perform the orchestration by Maurice Ravel.

7:30 pm, Faith Tabernacle Church, 6225 Summit Street, Halifax, NS

Tickets available online, at the door, and the Bowed Instrument Shop.