Spring 2017

Conductor Gary Ewer

Le Tombeau de Couperin

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)

Le tombeau de Couperin is a suite for solo piano by Maurice Ravel, composed between 1914 and 1917, in six movements based on those of a traditional Baroque suite. Each movement is dedicated to the memory of a friend of the composer (or in one case, two brothers) who had died fighting in World War I. Ravel also produced an orchestral version of the work in 1919, although this omitted two of the original movements.

Petite Symphonie

Charles-François Gounod (1818–1893)

Written in 1885 for 9 wind instruments and consists of 4 movements.

  1. Adagio et allegretto (si♭ majeur)
  2. Andante cantabile, quasi Adagio (mi♭ majeur)
  3. Scherzo, Allegro moderato (si♭ majeur)
  4. Finale, Allegretto (si♭ majeur)

L'Arlésienne Suite No. 1

George Bizet (1838–1875)


  1. Prélude, Allegro deciso (the March of the Kings)
  2. Minuet, Allegro giocoso
  3. Adagietto
  4. Carillon, Allegro moderato

L'Arlésienne Suite No. 2

George Bizet (1838–1875)


  1. Pastorale
  2. Intermezzo
  3. Minuet
  4. Farandole

7:30 pm, Faith Tabernacle Church, 6225 Summit Street, Halifax, NS

Tickets available online and at the door.