Spring 2019

Conductor Mark Shapiro
with Guest Artist Karlene Marie

“Care selve” from Atalanta

George Frideric Handel (1685–1759)

Atalanta (HWV 35) is a pastoral opera in three acts by George Frideric Handel composed in 1736. It is based upon the mythological female athlete, Atalanta, the libretto (which is in Italian) being derived from the book La Caccia in Etolia by Belisario Valeriani.

“Qual fiamma avea nel guardo! … Stridono lassù” from Pagliacci

Ruggero Leoncavallo (1857–1919)

Pagliacci (literal translation, "Clowns") is an Italian opera in a prologue and two acts, with music and libretto by Ruggero Leoncavallo. It is the only Leoncavallo opera that is still widely performed.

The Firebird (1919)

Igor Stravinsky (1882–1971)

The Firebird is a ballet and orchestral concert work by the Russian composer Igor Stravinsky. It was written for the 1910 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes company; the original choreography was by Michel Fokine, with a scenario by Alexandre Benois and Fokine based on the Russian fairy tales of the Firebird and the blessing and curse it possesses for its owner. When first performed at the Opéra de Paris on 25 June 1910, the work was an instant success with both audience and critics.

Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune

Claude Debussy (1862–1918)

Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (L. 86), known in English as Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, is a symphonic poem for orchestra by Claude Debussy, approximately 10 minutes in duration. It was first performed in Paris on 22 December 1894.

“Quando m'en vo” from La bohème

Giacomo Puccini (1858–1924)

La bohème is an opera in four acts,[N 1] composed by Giacomo Puccini to an Italian libretto by Luigi Illica and Giuseppe Giacosa, based on Scènes de la vie de bohème by Henri Murger. The world premiere of La bohème was in Turin on 1 February 1896.

“Un bel dì vedremo” from Madama Butterfly

Giacomo Puccini (1858–1924)

"Un bel dì vedremo" ("One fine day we'll see") is a soprano aria from the opera Madama Butterfly (1904) by Giacomo Puccini to a libretto by Luigi Illica and Giuseppe Giacosa.

Les préludes

Franz Liszt (1811–1886)

Les préludes is the third of Franz Liszt's thirteen symphonic poems. It is listed as S.97 in Humphrey Searle's catalogue of Liszt's music. The music is partly based on Liszt's 1844–45 choral cycle Les Quatre Élémens (The Four Elements). Its premiere was in 1854, directed by Liszt himself. Les préludes is the earliest example of an orchestral work entitled "symphonic poem".

7:30 pm, Faith Tabernacle Church, 6225 Summit Street, Halifax, NS

Tickets available online or at the door. Online tickets will be available at the door on the night of the concert. Just mention the name or email address you used when placing the order.